Pie Crust: A Basic

As anyone in my family can tell you, the thing I make best and most often is pie, so I think I’ll start this blog off with my tried-and-true recipe for pie crust, received from my grandmother. I’ve always heard that the best and most flaky pie crusts are made with animal lard, but as I’m a vegetarian that obviously isn’t an option, so I make mine with vegetable shortening. Personally, I think they’re just as good, but you can try the recipe out and judge for yourself! 🙂

Pie Crust

2 c. flour

½ t. baking powder

1 t. salt

¾ c. shortening

½ c. + 2 T. cold water

  1. Sift dry ingredients together. Cut shortening into flour mixture using two forks, taking care not to directly handle the dough with your hands. Continue to work the dough until the shortening forms small balls a little smaller than peas.
  2. Gradually add the water, working the dough as little as possible. When dough has reached the desired consistency, put it in a cool place (i.e., the refrigerator) for 20 minutes.
  3. Roll dough until it is fairly thin, and place in pie plate. Add filling and bake as directed in pie recipe. Makes enough pastry for one double-crusted, 9 inch pie.
2 responses

Leave a Reply

